Duties of the Officers and Councilors


All are members of the Executive Committee (including elect and past members)  and are expected to attend the Executive Committee and Business meetings at the annual meeting of the society and are members of the Nominating Committee.  Members of the Executive Committee evaluate and rank symposium proposals, select a Councilor after nomination from the membership, rank Perspective in Pharmacology review suggestions obtained from the membership and participate in all other activities that involve the Executive Committee.


Plan and coordinate scientific program (identify symposium, division specific programming etc.)  for annual meeting two years later (i.e. Chair-elect as of July 2001 is in charge of program for 2003); Contact symposium organizers the year of the meeting to request summaries for publication in Drug Metabolism and Disposition;  Co-chair the Division sponsored  platform session at the annual meeting.


Serve on ASPET Program Committee or Scientific Council (alternate years); Preside over meetings at annual meeting; Co-chair platform session; Coordinate activities of the other officers; Submit reports to ASPET Office and Council; Coordinate the submission of Perspective in Pharmacology reviews for the Journal of Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics; Send reminder to membership about platform session prior to abstract submission deadline for national meeting.  

Past Chair:

Continue to serve on Program Committee or Scientific Council;  Chair Nominating Committee; Identify and coordinate the James R. Gillette Best-Paper selection committee.


Chair the Student Awards Committee; Coordinate the mixer at the annual meeting.


Submit budget requests to ASPET Council;  Provide and coordinate information for Web Site and The Pharmacologist; Serve on ASPET Nominating Committee in alternate years.

Past Secretary/Treasurer:

Serve on the Student Awards Committee; Substitute for Secretary/Treasurer-elect or Secretary/Treasurer as needed.                          


(The Drug Metabolism Division Executive Committee appoints three Councilors for a three year term after obtaining nominations from the membership.  The Councilor terms are staggered so that each year a new Councilor is selected).  The duties include serving each year on the Student Awards Committee and/or the James R. Gillette Best Paper Committee.