The ASPET Division for Drug Metabolism Early Career Achievement Award has been established to recognize excellent original research by early career investigators in the area of drug metabolism and disposition.


The award is presented biennially in odd-numbered years. The award consists of $1,000, a plaque, and complimentary registration plus travel expenses (to a maximum of $1,000) for the winner to attend the award ceremony at the annual meeting. The awardee will deliver a lecture at the annual meeting describing their relevant research accomplishments. The awardee will be invited to publish a review article on the subject matter of the award lecture in Drug Metabolism and Disposition.

Nominees for this award must have a doctoral degree (e.g. Ph.D., M.D., Pharm. D., D.V.M.) and must be within 15 years of having received their final degree, as of December 31 of the year of the award. There are no restrictions on institutional affiliation and a candidate need not be a member of ASPET. There is a requirement for two nominators, although more are acceptable. Nominators must be members of ASPET. An individual cannot nominate more than one candidate per award cycle.


Candidates who have made their research contributions in any sector (e.g. academia, industry, government) of the drug metabolism community may be nominated for the award. The primary criterion for the award is the level of excellence and originality of the research conducted by the candidate in the field of drug metabolism and disposition. Independence of thought, originality of approach, clarity of communication, and the impact of the work on the drug metabolism field are important considerations. Candidates shall not be judged in comparison with the work of more experienced investigators. Selection will be made by the Executive Committee of the Division for Drug Metabolism.


Nominations shall consist of the following components:

1.    Two or more letters of nomination and support.

2.    The five most significant published papers authored by the candidate. A detailed examination of these publications will form a primary basis for evaluation.

3.    The candidate’s curriculum vitae and publication list.


All materials may be submitted as e-mail attachments in pdf format. Submit e-mail attachments to Alternatively, six copies of any or all materials may be submitted in hard-copy format. Submit hard copies to the Executive Officer, American Society for  Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics, 9650 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, Maryland 20814-3995. Nominations for this award must be received no later than September 15, 2008.


Recipients of the ASPET Division for Drug Metabolism Early Career Achievement Award

2007  Qiang Ma

2009  Wen Xie