Awards from EB2009

2009 Division for Drug Metabolism Early Career Achievement Award:

Wen Xie, University of Pittsburgh


2009 Graduate Student Best Abstract Awards:

First Place: Natasha Snider, University of Michigan. Advisor: Paul Hollenberg. “A cytochrome P450-derived epoxygenated metabolite of anandamide is a potent, cannabinoid receptor 2 selective agonist”


Second Place: Steven Hart, University of Kansas Medical Center. Advisor: Xiaobo Zhong. “Dynamic DNA and histone methylation influences ontogeny of xenobiotic metabolizing genes during mouse liver maturation”


Third Place: Emily Salman, University of Alabama at Birmingham. Advisor: Charles Falany. “Expression and localization of cholesterol sulfotransferase (SULT) 2B1b in human brain”

2009 Postdoctoral Scientist Awards:

First Place: Xi He, Tufts Univ. School of Medicine. Advisor: Michael Court. “The UGT2B15*2 polymorphism is a major determinant of oxazepam clearance in human volunteers”


Second Place: Beatrice Nyagode, Emory Univ School of Medicine. Advisor: Edward Morgan. “Modulation of hepatic P450, cytokine and acute phase protein mRNAs by C. rodentium infection in Interleukin-6-and interferon-g null mice”

James R. Gillette Drug Metabolism Best Papers of 2008

Metabolism category:

Klieber S, Hugla S, Ngo R, Arabeyere-Fabre C, Meunier V, Sadoun F, Fedeli O, Rival M, Bourrie M, Guillour F, Maurel P and Fabre G. Contribution of the N-glucuronidation pathway to the overall in vitro metabolic clearance of midazolam in humans. Drug Metab Dispos 36:851-862, 2008.


Pharmacokinetics/Drug Transporters category:

Poonkuzhali B, Lamba L, Strom S, Sparreboom A, Thummel K, Watkins P and Schuetz E. Association of breast cancer resistance protein/ABCG2 phenotypes with novel promoter and intron 1 single nucleotide polymorphisms. Drug Metab Dispos 36:780-795, 2008.

Pictures from EB2009

EB2009 Division for Drug Metabolism Early Career Achievement Award and Gillette Awards

EB2009 Graduate Student and Postdoc Awards


EB2009 Drug Metabolism/Toxicology Mixer



Seeking nominations for the 2010 Bernard B. Brodie Award in Drug Metabolism. The B. B. Brodie Award in Drug Metabolism is presented biennially in even years to recognize outstanding original research contributions in drug metabolism and disposition, particularly those having a major impact on future research in the field. The award will be presented next at Experimental Biology ‘10. Please consider nominating an outstanding scientist for this award. Nominations must be received by September 15, 2009. For more information, visit 

Curtis D. Klaassen2008 Bernard B. Brodie Award in Drug Metabolism:


Curtis D. Klaassen, University of Kansas Medical Center


2009 Election Results:

  • Chair-Elect: J. Steven Leeder, Children's Mercy Hospital and Clinics

  • Secretary/Treasurer-Elect: Emily E. Scott, University of Kansas

Terms begin July 1, 2009

Division Meeting Minutes


News Archives

The Pharmacologist